Science Symposium – New frontiers in physics

Sharing new paradigms and strengthening collaborations.

Photo by Samuel Zeller/Unsplash

Event Details


Biological Sciences Building
Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, Karnataka 560012 India


September 04, 2019 from 3:30 am to 11:30 am Asia/India (UTC+05:30)

As part of Vigyan Samagam 2019’s CERN exhibition on accelerating science, swissnex India, in association with Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and Embassy of Switzerland, Delhi is hosting Science Symposium 2019 with the theme “New Frontiers in Physics”. Bringing the Swiss & Indian physics community together Science Symposium 2019 aims to share new paradigms and strenghthen collaborations in the science network.



Michael Doser has specialized in working with antimatter, using it either as a tool or as an object of study itself and is the spokesperson of the AEgIS experiment at CERN. He also lectures on antimatter, and is editor of Physics Letters B and of the Review of Particle Properties spokesperson of the AEgIS experiment at CERN.
Michael Doser
Research Physicist / CERN
Francesca Stocker has completed her bachelor and master of science in experimental particle physics at the University of Bern in Switzerland and is currently pursuing her PhD at CERN working on the protoDUNE detectors for the DUNE experiment.
Francesca Stocker
PhD Student / CERN
Matthias Gaberdiel was awarded a Royal Society University Research Fellowship which he first held at Cambridge, and then later at King's College, London. He then became an associate Professor at ETH Zurich, and was promoted to full professor in 2007.
Matthias Gaberdiel
Prof. Dr. / ETH Zurich
Dr. Sadiqali Abbas Rangwala is an Indian physicist and is currently working in the field of Experimental Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics. He was awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize in 2014
Dr. Sadiqali Abbas Rangwala
Prof. / Raman Research Institute
Kajari Mazumdar is a permanent faculty member at TIFR and is involved in all aspects of CMS experiment from the very early phase of the design in 1990's to the final publication of scientific results including the reviews. She is also in charge of the Indian Grid computing centre for CMS experiment hosted at TIFR.
Kajari Mazumdar
Faculty Member / TIFR
Jyothsna Komaragiri has worked on three world-wide, high energy physics collaborative experiments such as; Compact Muon Solenoid, A Toroidal LHC Apparatus and DZero. Currently she is part of the newly setup Experimental High Energy Physics program at CHEP and is the team leader for IISc-CMS collaboration.
Jyothsna Komaragiri
Assistant Professor / IISC
Abhishek Sharma is a Doctoral Researcher working on the ATLAS experiment at the CERN laboratory’s Large Hadron Collider (LHC). His research includes R&D in silicon sensor technology capable of withstanding extreme radiation environments and the development of the instrumentation needed for their characterisation and operation.
Abhishek Sharma
Doctoral Researcher / CERN
Subhendra Mohanty is a Professor in Physical Research Laboratory, India and works in Astroparticle Physics and Cosmology. He obtained his PhD from University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1990 and has been a member of faculty at PRL since 1994.
Subhendra Mohanty
Prof. / Physical Research Laboratory
Brajesh Choudhary is a Professor of Physics in the Department of Physics & Astrophysics, University of Delhi and the Spokesperson of the India-CMS collaboration at CERN since August 2017. He has made significant contributions to the understanding of Direct Photon Physics at E706 and CMS.
Brajesh Choudhary
Prof. / University of Delhi
Daniel Wyler is currently a delegate of the rector for strategic projects at the University of Zurich. His research focuses on theoretical elementary physics and is particularly interested in predicting and discovering new elementary particles, which is a major area of research at the LHC in Geneva.
Daniel Wyler
Retired Prof. / University of Zurich
Dr. Subhasis Chattopadhyay has worked on instrumentation, phenomenology and physics analysis in the field of high energy heavy ion collisions at CERN and Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA and currently coordinating India's participation in the FAIR project, Germany. He has made significant contribution in detection and study of photons and dileptons in such collisions.
Dr. Subhasis Chattopadhyay
Scientific Officer / Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Kolkata

Chairs & Moderators 

B Ananthanarayan is Professor and former Chair, having served for nearly 9 years and 8 months of the Centre for High Energy Physics, Indian Institute of Science.  He is a chemical engineer by training and obtained his masters and Ph.D. in physics from the University of Delaware, USA.
B Ananthanarayan
Prof. / IISc
Aninda Sinha did his PhD from Cambridge University in 2005 and postdocs from Cambridge 2005-2007 and Perimeter Institute 2007-2010. His work focuses on quantum field theories using non- perturbative techniques such as the bootstrap. He was awarded the Swarnajayanti fellowship for 2013-2014 and the ICTP prize of ICTP, Trieste, Italy in 2016.
Aninda Sinha
Associate Prof. / IISc
Sudhir Vempati is Associate Professor in CHEP, IISc. He is Particle Phenomenologist mostly focussing on Physics Beyond Standard Model, focusing on supersymmetry, supergravity, dark matter, neutrino masses, extra dimensions etc.
Sudhir Vempati
Associate Prof. / IISc


Know more about the detailed schedule and talks for the day here. See you there!